How to Track Online Marketing ROI Using Cost-Per-Action

Forget clicks, page views, and impressions; the only way to effectively track your online marketing ROI is through Cost-per-Action (CPA) analysis.

As the online advertising market is poised to grow nearly $10 billion over the next six years, it's essential that we remember the importance of measuring the effectiveness of that spending. There's no point undertaking any marketing or advertising campaign unless you can measure its results. And results are best measured in terms of return on investment (ROI).

Unfortunately, in the world of marketing and advertising, many businesses seem to be losing touch with their general objectives. The tools may have changed, but the principles remain the same ? Your advertising campaigns are only successful if they meet the objectives you set out to achieve. So if you're after increased sales, you need to measure the cost of each sale generated to determine your return on investment.

Fortunately for advertisers, tracking ROI for online advertising is much easier than it is for traditional forms of advertising, such as TV, Radio, Newspaper, Magazine, and Billboard. When you market online, every advertising campaign can be tracked and measured all the way down to the penny. This is why more and more advertising dollars are being spent online every day.

Why Not Cost-Per-Click or Cost-Per-Impression?

When it comes to tracking campaign effectiveness, many businesses rely on Cost-per-Click (CPC) and Cost-per-Impression (CPM) statistics. But what many people forget is that for most businesses, clicks and impressions don't earn you money. So by tracking clicks and impressions, you're not really tracking return on investment. The same is true of page stats.

If you're like most businesses, impressions, clicks, and page views are simply a means to an end. (In fact, without corresponding sales conversions, they're nothing more than unjustifiable expenses.) If you only earn revenue from sales, you need statistics linking costs and sales. In other words, you need to measure cost-per-action (CPA).

Cost-Per-Action (CPA)

In a CPA campaign, you run an online ad on third party sites and they charge a commission when a lead is generated or converted. It's performance-based pricing. This means the publisher wears most of the advertising risk, as their commissions are dependent on good conversion rates.

Perhaps the most widespread use of CPA is affiliate marketing. With affiliate marketing, you determine what actions you will reward and how much you're willing to pay per action. For example, you might engage an affiliate site to promote your business. If they generate sales for your business, you can pay them a commission. Your cost-per-action would then be the cost per sale or lead generated.

Tips on Conversion

The following conversion tips will help you plan your CPA campaign and avoid some common pitfalls.

1) How are sales and leads recorded?

For many businesses, the obvious result which constitutes a conversion is a sale. If your sale is recorded or registered online (e.g. e-commerce), it can be considered a measurable action. This means you can choose a sale as the desired action in your CPA campaign.

Depending on the aim of your campaign, you may want to measure other outcomes in addition to, or instead of, sales. For instance, you might measure leads in the form of membership registrations, newsletter subscriptions, software downloads, or just about any other activity beyond simple page browsing. So when your customer clicks register, or subscribe, or download, etc., the conversion is automatically registered and the details are fed back you're your CPA campaign.

In either case, at any time, you can log in and view your campaign results in real time.

2) Set up a landing page to capture lead contact details

If you're paying for leads, you obviously need to know when a lead is actually generated. Generally a lead becomes a lead only when the customer supplies you with their details (name, contact numbers, email, etc.). This means you need to set up a landing page on your site capture these details. Your capture page can be collect contact information or it can be as simple as a signup for a monthly newsletter.

3) Get your CPA provider to set up your landing page

If you don't have the time, inclination, or resources to set up the necessary forms and database on your own site, the CPA provider can do it on their hosted server. They collect the leads and calculate the statistics. For many businesses, this is the ideal option because it saves them time and money, and there are no tracking discrepancies.

4) Find a CPA provider you can trust

If your CPA provider will be collecting leads and calculating statistics, you need to know you can trust them. There are plenty of trustworthy providers out there; you just need to find them. A trustworthy provider will find out what your exact needs are and spend time researching your niche market online. By performing this marketing analysis, your provider will be able to tell you exactly how much business they can bring you on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis. If they can't provide you with this important information, then this is a good indication that you are not speaking with a professional internet marketer.

Just as importantly, with a trustworthy provider you'll be able to personally speak with the internet marketer who will be working on your project. This person will be an expert in the field of internet marketing, not just a sales rep.

5) Avoiding excess fees

WARNING: Some CPA providers charge a setup fee ($2,500 to $10,000) and/or a network fee (20% to 30%) for each sale or lead that is generated. Before committing to a provider demanding high fees, make sure you are getting more for your money. Most of the time high fees simply mean the sales rep is getting a higher commission!

6) Measuring your conversion rate

The Formula for measuring CPA is by dividing the total cost per advertising campaign by the total number of actions (conversions) that were received from each ad campaign. For example, if your online ad campaign costs $1,000 and generates 50 sales or leads, your cost per action (CPA) is $20.00 each.

7) Improving your conversion rate

A high conversion rate depends on several factors:

  • Visitor Interest Level ? The interest level of the visitor is maximized by matching the right visitor, the right place, and the right time.

  • Offer Attractiveness ? The attractiveness of the offer includes the value proposition and how well it is presented. TIP: Small, impulse items typically have a higher conversion rate than large shopping items.

  • Ease of Process ? The ease with which the visitor can complete the desired action is dependent on site usability. Important considerations here include intuitive navigation, contact info capture page, "Buy Now" or "Apply Now" buttons and fast loading pages.
In summary?

Because CPA allows you to identify exactly how much it will cost to acquire a customer, there's no guesswork involved. You have the ability to precisely calculate your ROI. And because online tools and ad serving technologies allow you to monitor effectiveness in real time, you can even tweak campaigns while they're still running. If you can master effective online advertising, you'll not only save thousands in implementation costs, you'll also reap the rewards of a far higher return on investment.

About The Author

Rick Crosby is CEO of a full-service internet marketing and online advertising agency, MarketingWebTraffic.com. Visit http://www.marketingwebtraffic.com for further details or contact Rick directly at 727-490-5739 or email mailto:rick@marketingwebtraffic.com.

rick@marketingwebtraffic.com

In The News:


pen paper and inkwell


cat break through


Idiotic Marketers Who Waste Time Should be Shot

Ok, that's a little harsh for a title but you... Read More

Dumb Money And Smart Money

One of my goals online is to give you the... Read More

5 Things Every Internet Marketer Must Learn From Mail Order To Increase Their Profits Now!

Understanding that the Internet is another vehicle for direct response... Read More

Internet Marketing and Your Old Age

Everybody wants to learn how to make money on the... Read More

My Secret To Selling More Big Ticket Items

Many aspiring Internet marketers hear all of the talk about... Read More

How To Build a Successful Online Reputation

After running an online business (web site design) for a... Read More

e-Marketing Strategy: 7 Dimensions to Consider (the e-Marketing Mix)

What is e-Marketing?e-Marketing is still quite a controversial subject to... Read More

Internet Consultants for Online Sales

Beware of Internet Consultants, as many of them have never... Read More

5 Ways Al-Quaeda is Using Internet Marketing

Internet Marketing is not dead. But it may have caused... Read More

SEO 101... These Tags Really Do Matter

In search of the coveted search engine traffic? Yes? Then... Read More

Keywords are the Key

Niche marketing is focusing your business efforts to a target... Read More

Web Marketers - Get Some Professional Help!

There is lots of freelance help available on the internet,... Read More

Marketing to Today?s ?Distracted? Consumer

The average person today is exposed to a never-ending deluge... Read More

Visibility Equates to Higher Profits

One of the greatest challenges businesses face is how to... Read More

Guru... Schmooru... So What! The Internet Gurus Unmasked

The word "guru", in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, is defined as:1.... Read More

Consumer Confidence Increased With Paypal

In the last year I have met people that have... Read More

The Real Truth About Making Money on the Internet

Are you thinking about starting an online business? Have you... Read More

Creating Information Products For Money, Image And Success

There has never been a more exciting and profitable time... Read More

Hype! Has The Internet Gone Too Far?

I remember back in the 1980s (history for many of... Read More

Sales Marketing: 10 Blockbuster, High Octane Strategies To Explode Your Website Sales And Profits

Do you want to ignite sales at your website?Do you... Read More

5 Ways To Treat Your Website Like An Employee And Reap The Rewards

People often come to me in a state of crisis... Read More

Can You Provide an Internet Advertising Solution?

This year, 2005, will see the demise of some well... Read More

10 Things the Work at Home Online Business Owner can Do to Improve their Search Engine Rankings

Search engine theory is great but most Web Masters Say... Read More

No-Holds-Barred Conversations with Dan Lok - Part 2

Question: How to deal with ultra skeptical offline or be... Read More

Magic Of Direct Response Website

For a web site to make the most money it... Read More

7 Tips to Help Internet Marketers

To make a living online is the dream of many... Read More

Think Your Way to the Gold Online!

If you have ever wanted to know HOW the Internet... Read More

Attract More Orders

Attracting More Orders! Jump Starting Sales! Sky-Rocketing Profits! Whatever you... Read More

The Power Of Giving

1.Why give away what you could sell?That's a fair enough... Read More

Five Steps To Successful Web Marketing And Sales Process!

The basic principles used successfully by brick and mortar storefronts... Read More

Becoming A Successful Internet Entrepreneur

You're motivated to run your own business, aren't you?If you're... Read More

Why Should I Visit Your Website?

If we can't attract visitors to our websites there's little... Read More

Internet: The Darling Of Business

Internet has become indispensable in our lives. It has become... Read More